In the project stage, the proposed University will be guided in academic matters by an Advisory Board consisting of the President of the Vedanta University project and a few eminent personalities from all over the globe.

Bijay Kumar Patnaik, IAS (Retired)

President Vedanta University Project

Mr. B. K. Patnaik served as Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Odisha from 2004 to 2010, and thereafter as Chief Secretary, Government of Odisha from 2010 to 2013. During 2013-14 he held the Office of the Chairman, Staff Selection Commission, Government of Odisha. He was also member of the Odisha Human Rights Commission during 2014-15. He joined the Anil Agarwal Foundation in April 2015 as the President of the Vedanta University Project.

Read More

The following persons have kindly consented to be on the Board (their names have been arranged in alphabetical order):

Prof. Dr. Gunter Blobel

Prof. Dr. Gunter Blobel is the HHMI & John D. Rockefeller jr. Professor of Cell Biology, Rockefeller University, is a pioneer molecular cell biologist, who made the seminal and ground breaking discovery of the signal peptide mechanism or address tags involved in protein translocation into membrane-bound cellular organelles in cells. Consequently, he is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the unshared Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1999.

Read More

Prof. Dr. Bhanu P. Jena

Prof. Dr. Bhanu P Jena is George E. Palade University Professor & Distinguished Professor, Wayne State University School of Medicine and the Founder-Director of the Institute of Nano BioScience of the University. He is a pioneering cell biologist and chemist, and institution builder, who discovered a new cellular structure the ‘porosome’ over two decades ago, involved in fundamental physiological processes, such as neurotransmission, insulin secretion, or the secretion of digestive enzymes and hormones. Consequently, he is the recipient of numerous awards and honors.

Read More

Prof. Dr. Roger D. Kornberg

Prof. Dr. Roger D. Kornberg, Ph.D., Distinguished Winzer Professor, is a pioneer cellular and molecular biology, known for his seminal and ground breaking work on elucidating the atomic structure-function of the transcriptional machinery that garnered him numerous awards and honors, including the unshared Nobel Prize in Chemistry, in 2006. He is Professor in the Department of Structural Biology at Stanford Medical School.

Read More

Mr. Ranjan Mathai

Mr. Ranjan Mathai was Foreign Secretary of India for 2 years from August 2011 to July 2013. After his retirement he was appointed High Commissioner of India to the United Kingdom (Dec 2013- Dec 2015).

Read More

Prof. Dr. Debabrata(Dev) Mukhopadhyay

Debabrata(Dev) Mukhopadhyay Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Mayo Clinic School of Medicine and Science, Jacksonville, Florida, has a joint appointment with the Department of Physiology and Biomedical Engineering and Associate Director of Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center for Global Collaboration.

Read More

Mr. Pramath Raj Sinha

Dr. Pramath Raj Sinha is the Founding Dean of Indian School of Business (ISB) and is a member of its Executive Board. He has been involved in the founding of ISB since its very inception. The ISB under his leadership achieved an iconic status as a management school and has never looked back.

Read More

A few more professionals including a Nobel Laureate are going to join the Board shortly.